Is there a solution to my programming motivation problem?

Community Forums/Technical Discourse/Is there a solution to my programming motivation problem?

Matty(Posted April) [#1]
Hi folks,

I enjoy writing code. I write it for a living.

I keep coming up with ideas for games (either browser based or mobile) - and I put a few things down on paper, get mildly excited by the prospect of making something, sometimes quite elaborate concepts and then it hits me.....->

No one will play it. It will reach an audience of probably 5. It will just go on the trash heap of all the other small time developer games that the app stores and web is full of.

----<

That always demotivates me. Sends my motivation straight through the floor.

I write a few curse words on my page and then move on from that idea of inspiration I had and do something else.

------

How do I solve this problem?

How do you solve this problem? Do you have this problem?

In terms of coding challenge - game programming doesn't really challenge or extend my knowledge much.

In terms of fun - I enjoy playing my own games (still play Star Dancer most days, still play Gorgoth from time to time and a few others) but I don't particularly get much out of games I can get on either mobile or PC either commercial or indie.

But I always get to the point of having a nice idea I'd like to create and then the sound of the thought that 'it will never be played by anyone' pops into my head and I instantly bin the idea.

This was never a problem 10 years ago, before the advent of the mobile markets, when I was still making demos and games purely for myself on PC.

So what has changed?

Why do I now care whether it is worth building something in terms of other people's reception of the idea?

Why is it no longer enough to create purely for myself?

Have I outgrown the games I like to create?

Have I been 'infected' by the facebook bug that means nothing is real unless it is shared with a million people?

What has happened?