BRL icon - suggestion for the website

Community Forums/Technical Discourse/BRL icon - suggestion for the website

degac(Posted 2016) [#1]
Ok, I'm not a designer, but the favicon is not the best thing I've seen.
So this is my attempt to represent the BlitzResearch legacy

http://www.graphio.net/Images/brl-logo2.svg

Derron(Posted 2016) [#2]
You should consider (means "try out") how it looks if the "\"-parts of the "B" get the same angles like the "flash".

At least for now you have different angles here and there, creating a "not really joint"-look.

BTW: this was my old suggestion for BMX-NG,

https://github.com/bmx-ng/bmx-ng/issues/1

Maybe it brings in another idea - at least it is "generic" enough for BRL, not just BlitzMax or BlitzBasic.

Nonetheless I do not like that "dull" look of todays logos, I prefered the more "glossy" ones of the early 2k era.

bye
Ron

degac(Posted 2016) [#3]
Mine was just an idea.
Consider that a favicon should be readable (it's very tiny) and I would join the 'B' of BlitzBasic-BlitzMax-Blitz3d-BRL with the idea of the 'blitz'... and honestly much better than the current 'B' (in pixel style) (personal opinion of course!).

I think that a plain style (or dull) for some things (like favicon or logo) is the best solution.

PS: this is not intended like a logo for BlitzMax or Monkey or any other product, just something for BRL (Blitz Research Ltd)
This site should be called 'Blitz Research' as it give the birth to many languages... quite sure nothing happens anyway :)

Derron(Posted 2016) [#4]
For such thigs the best is to contact skid in private...to get a response is more likely then.

Bye
Ron

Grisu(Posted 2016) [#5]
Both logos look fine to me.

Kryzon(Posted 2016) [#6]

Maybe something more like the original Blitz Basic software identity.

Font used is Dosis extra-bold.

Or something with that red rocket icon used for building\launching your program.

therevills(Posted 2016) [#7]