YUI - Yui User Interface [WIP]

Community Forums/Showcase/YUI - Yui User Interface [WIP]

SystemError51(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi all,

I am working on an online game in the moment. To make the game a reality, I purchased BlitzMax.

The game itself needs a UI to handle different things - text display, news from the web, trade/market windows and so on and so forth.

For a week I have been experimenting around. I'm not a pro and it certainly can be done better, but here are my first attempts in creating a user interface.

This is a work in progress and my first steps. Please be gentle.

Video:
[YouTube] YUI - Yui User Interface - Pre-Alpha state

I'm planning to make YUI open source. The game however, won't be.

YUI is named after Yui Hirasawa from "K-ON!". Plus, I thought that's a cool word-play and a Unix-like recursive abbrevation.

Comments are welcome!

Cheers
Marcus

Last edited 2011

BlitzSupport(Posted 2011) [#2]
I watched the video, and I thought the code layout was really impressive for someone who's only been using Blitz for a week, even if you clearly know what you're doing!

For all that it matters (ie. not much), BlitzMax isn't "a scripting layer on top of C++" as suggested in the video -- it outputs its own assembly code, which is compiled using FASM; the result is then linked via MinGW into a final executable (for Windows, anyway). It does of course use MinGW/g++ for building any C/C++ code you might import in your .bmx projects.

Anyway, new GUIs are always welcome, so do keep updating!

Last edited 2011

xlsior(Posted 2011) [#3]
Nice.

Just as an FYI: There are some work-arounds to counteract the delay in the mouse movements, which is caused by double buffering.

IIRC the easiest fix is to do a 1x1 pixel grabimage each frame, and the delay should be gone.

Kryzon(Posted 2011) [#4]
Hi Marcus. I'm very glad to see a fellow blitzer that is also a fan of anime and japanese culture (I'm watching your Tokyo videos at the moment).