Speedboat Forever

Community Forums/Showcase/Speedboat Forever

Grey Alien(Posted 2010) [#1]
Here's a minigame that I made in 23 hours (including sleep, meals and distractions) at the recent OrcaJam in Victoria. I made it using a mini-framework that I started coding in the week running up to the OrcaJam and extended more there.

The OrcaJam was awesome, loads of great Indies there to meet and some fantastic minigames came out of it. If you get a chance to do a gamejam, do it, it'll teach you a lot!

My personal goal was to make a complete game with:

- a title screen
- basic playable game
- win and lose states/screens
- music and sounds (I reused music that I made for my other framework games, except for one Holiday Bonus tune. But all the sound effects are new.)
- a basic level of presentation

Yes the graphics are bad programmer art and the gameplay is very basic, but it is a complete game, and it feels good to be able to make one quickly. Now that my mini-framework is more complete, I could do it again in a few hours.

Instructions
============

- Use the arrow keys to avoid the rocks (grey squares).
- Pickup a certain number of yellow squares to complete the level.
- The bigger the yellow square the more points you get, but watch out, your speedboat will also grow larger!
- Each level requires you to collect more pickups, and you move faster, plus there are more rocks.
- Have fun! See if you can survive at top speed!

Download it out here:

Windows: http://www.greyaliengames.com/minigames/SpeedboatForeverV01.zip (2.36MB)
Mac OS: http://www.greyaliengames.com/minigames/SpeedboatForeverV01.dmg (2.58Mb)

MikeHart(Posted 2010) [#2]
Cool. Did you use your own algo for the proportional bitmap fonts?

Grey Alien(Posted 2010) [#3]
I'm just using LoadImageFont into my own TLabel class that handles all the scaling etc. No bitmap fonts. My "proper" framework has bitmap fonts, but the mini-framework I used for this game doesn't support them yet.

GaryV(Posted 2010) [#4]