Very retro style 3D maze game

Community Forums/Showcase/Very retro style 3D maze game

Lindsay(Posted 2009) [#1]
If you remember playing a 3D maze game on a Commodore PET (among others), here's a slice of nostalgia for you :) I've written it to get myself started with BlitzMax, but I've been programming for almost 30 years as explained in my intro post.

Here's a Windows version: http://www.lpbaker.com/LPBaker/Games_files/3dmaze1_windows.zip

Here's an Intel Mac version: http://www.lpbaker.com/LPBaker/Games_files/3dmaze1_osx.zip

The game should be pretty self-explanatory. Pick a maze size (the mazes are randomly generated each time), try to get to the exit point (you always start at the top left, the exit point is the bottom right). The more moves you make, the lower the score you end up with. You can look at a 2D map view if you need help, but get a bonus added to your score if you don't use it. You can also turn on a "breadcrumb trail" that shows you where you've been, but again, you get a bonus for not using it.

As I'm new to Blitz, if there's anything I'm doing in the code that's bad, or could be done a lot more easily, I'm all ears :) The code is heavily documented but if you have any questions, I'm happy to help.

Enjoy!

Jesse(Posted 2009) [#2]
Interesting and nice retro feel but I think it would look better with a compas image some where. A real walkable version would be really nice. :)

I have that similar maze generator function in my signature link. I messed with it but I've never really done anything with it. I guess it served to show me how to do a breadh first search engine and have it incase I ever need it.
your code is really profesionally organize. do you know OO? one of the advantages of bmax is basically that. It is so easy to work with objects and makes you so much more productive. If you don't, I recomend the OO tutorials in the tutorials section of Blitzmax, really easy to follow.

Lindsay(Posted 2009) [#3]