My first game: RotateZ

Community Forums/Showcase/My first game: RotateZ

Chalky(Posted 2009) [#1]
I have finally managed to finish my first game RotateZ, which I started programming almost 2 years ago as an exercise project in converting some old Blitz3D code I had lying around to BlitzMax.

It is freeware and very simple to play - being based on the old mobile phone game "Blockster Deluxe", in which you have to rotate tiles to make blocks of 4 or more of the same colour.

I have only been able to test this on XP - if anyone could let me know if it runs on Vista I'd be very grateful.

Download here.

PS: The backdrop images shown in the screenshots are not included in the ZIP file due to their size. However you can use any 4:3 aspect BMP, JPG or PNG images by copying them to the Backdrops directory (created when the game first runs) and selecting them via the Options menu.

markcw(Posted 2009) [#2]
Hey, well done. Looks nice. Downloading now...

Chalky(Posted 2009) [#3]
Just updated the ZIP to contain a version which doesn't MAV on the hiscore screen. That'll teach me to make last minute changes without proper regression testing... :o/

markcw(Posted 2009) [#4]
Well I played the previous version and have a few comments.

It may be my crappy version of xp pro 2002 but in fullscreen the mouse pointer is invisible.
In the instructions screen the last line of text goes black, sometimes not the whole line.
The window in windowed mode isn't centered.
The game in easy mode was even too hard for me, I think match-3 is better than match-4.
Also, the controls seem strange, surely all you need is rotate clockwise or anticlockwise? Plus I would prefer mouse control.

Chalky(Posted 2009) [#5]
Hi markcw.

It may be my crappy version of xp pro 2002 but in fullscreen mode the mouse pointer is invisible.