Event Scheduler

Community Forums/Showcase/Event Scheduler

USNavyFish(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hey folks. First contribution to the community.. hope someone finds this useful, either as part of their own program or as an example of Reflection.

Note how once initialized, the scheduler is entirely hook-based. The 'main loop' of my example program does nothing but draw to the screen. All scheduled method calls ('FutureEvents') are hooked from the scheduler's main timer.

USNavyFish

P.S. I'm new to working with callback functions for user input, so I'm not sure if the input handler I built for the example program is a very smart way of doing it. If you prefer another method, I'd like to know what you do! Thank you in advance..

Rem 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Event Scheduling Program
	Bryan Fishman (USNavyFish), AUG 2008

This program was designed to provide an easy means of scheduling the execution of events within a game
or simulation.  The system was designed for minimal overhead.  It is not designed for extremely high
time sensitivity, and use of a time resolution less than one hundredth of a second is not recomended.

Essentially, the system provides an array where each cell represents one 'moment' of time.  When events
are scheduled, this system places them in the appropriate cell which represents the moment of execution
for that event.   The system then simply checks one cell per 'moment' and executes any event stored there.
In this manner, the system can support an extremely large number of concurrent and overlapping events, without 
any performance loss, as the program is not required to loop through all scheduled events during every cycle.  

This program provides two Custom Types:

A"TFutureEvent" type with the following functions, methods, and fields:
		|| Field obj_:Object	The targe objet whose method will be called