Random DND Forest Map

Community Forums/Showcase/Random DND Forest Map

Tyler(Posted 2005) [#1]
Someone requested something on the ENWorld.org forums to create a random percentage of "trees" on tiles for their DND games. So, I spit this out right quick (and for free ... lol, cause I'm no seasoned pro) I think it works, but tell me if anyone get any errors, so I might be able to fix them promptly. Thanks!

http://www.togamario.com/zip/forestgen.zip

Banshee(Posted 2005) [#2]
Does exactly what it says on the tin. Now, howsabout clustering them and adding towns, roads and mountains ?

Tyler(Posted 2005) [#3]
LOL, If they had asked for all that I might have taken a bit longer to make it super polished, but alas, someone just needed some randomly placed trees. However, I haven't ruled out trying to create an actual map editor, with a randomize option ... Do they have any of these around? I think "Dunjinni" might do something similar?

Grey Alien(Posted 2005) [#4]
Hey I think you mean D&D or failing that D'n'D haha.

Tyler(Posted 2005) [#5]
Haha, I believe I did mean D&D :) I just might be the worst nerd ever :P

DH(Posted 2005) [#6]
tried to do one:
Values:45,70,30,100,100

It basically froze the program and I had to kill the process.

Tyler(Posted 2005) [#7]
hrm, that'd be a 7,200 x 7,200 pixel map ... does your computer have enough RAM to store all that? It output a 66 MB file for me, although it did take over a minute. It appeared to lock up, but it was really just floundering, lol. I guess if you leave it there long enough, eventually it would make something.

Wow, the loop had to draw over 30,000 times to make that map. Three layers - the ground layers, the square layers, then the tree layers. No wonder it hangs, lol. This is one of the more extreme cases, though, since I doubt any of the D&D fans have a printer that can print 100 inches X 100 inches.

DH(Posted 2005) [#8]