A small, poorly programmed retro-ish shooter

Community Forums/Showcase/A small, poorly programmed retro-ish shooter

shawno(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hey,
I'm not sure if this forum uses BBcode or HTML or what, so I'll just post some text links here and hope I don't get flamed on my very first try.
I started playing with Blitz a couple of years back. This is the first project I really spent any time on. It kind of just sat on my hard drive for a while, and I recently decided I may as well put it out there for people to check out.
It's a retro style kinda side scrolly shooter thingy.
I'm no brilliant programmer, so it may run like crap, or it may not.

Without further ado, I present... Captain Super-Ultra vs Blasternoids!

http://www.rodekill.com/games/superultra08b.zip

(PS: There's some more shoddy games at www.rodekill.com )

Boiled Sweets(Posted 2004) [#2]
Interesting...

It runs fine but dare I say its a little basic. Was it written in VB?

Kanati(Posted 2004) [#3]
I like the intellivision quality retro graphics... but there's really not much game there yet.

If you hide under the high score and hold down fire you can play nearly forever with only the occasional asteroid killing you. And the infrequent "boss" that you fire at a few dozen times to kill.

But hey... change pathing on the aliens to be more random and make the boss fire stuff at you... And make levels about the same length but change the aliens to be different and tougher as you progress... You'll have a pretty good shooter there.

here's what I mean by no worries about death really...

shawno(Posted 2004) [#4]
There's definately something very, very weird going on there.

There should be much more action on-screen, especially at that level. In fact, I don't think I've even ever hit that level myself...

It looks like the randomization of everything is off.

Here's a screen cap I just took:

Any ideas on what could cause this?

Boiled Sweets(Posted 2004) [#5]
Was it written in VB or was it Blitz+?