Test my 2D quad game

Community Forums/Showcase/Test my 2D quad game

coffeedotbean(Posted 2003) [#1]
Following on from my post about a set a functions I wrote (based on skidracers technequie) about pixel perfect quads heres a little demo showing them in action.

I've also released it to see if there are any performance issues, im new to the 3D side of blitz.

This is a game in writing with the the help of a top class pixel artist. please post any problems etc.

http://www.jabawokie.ukgamers.net/Jester_zombie.zip (844k)

Syntax has added skidracers code to his spritecontrol library, head over to BC to grab that.

Panno(Posted 2003) [#2]
20 fps
130 quads
11,7 mb vmem used

looks great

make the run for each zombie different i think its look better

eBusiness(Posted 2003) [#3]
Hmmm, seems like a lot of vmem for such an app. You really waste system resources.

coffeedotbean(Posted 2003) [#4]
Panno what gfx card you using how much vram etc.

ebusiness, the nature of the system means that there will be some wasted resources, becuase all textures used must be square and of a certain size (32,64,128,256,512,1024... etc) the biggest drain are the two 1024x1024 images used, which i'll eventualy tile which will shave about 3MB of the Vram usage, also the game will run in 16bit so if you run it on a 32bit desktop the vram usage will double. if you run the current demo on a 16bit desktop it only uses 7.7MB, take the 3MB off when the background images are tiled and your left with around 5MB VRam.

Ross C(Posted 2003) [#5]
85 Fps, that's my monitor refresh rate (probably higher). Same VRAM usage as above.

Panno(Posted 2003) [#6]
tnt2

i see no green man !

Rob(Posted 2003) [#7]
I like it

Beaker(Posted 2003) [#8]
I'm not getting any masking/alphaing on the sprites. Lots of black rectancles everywhere. And, I can only see one little man.

smilertoo(Posted 2003) [#9]
it runs fine but no way to see if its slow or not, youve locked it to the vsync rate.