Might & Magic tribute game

Community Forums/Showcase/Might & Magic tribute game

Sir Felgar(Posted 2003) [#1]
I thought I'd post some details of what I've been doing with Blitz3D for the last eight months.

I'm the project leader for a group of die-hard Might & Magic fans that have decided if 3DO aren't going to produce any more M&M games (they filed for bankruptcy recently) then we'll do it ourselves and release our own freeware "tribute" game.

As the team's programmer, I've spent the last eight months learning Blitz3D and I finally released a tech demo to the M&M community a few days ago.

The response to this so far has been fantastic. My favourite quote is from Tim Lang who was Lead designer for Might & Magic 9 :

"Overall, I'd say that's a great start...the framerate was smooth, the textures looked good...If I saw those screens on the back of a box, I'd throw down cash for it. And believe me when I say I saw games at E3 being made by pros that didn't look as good..."

I think he's exaggerating somewhat but high praise indeed! Tim has also just offered to join our development team "unofficially" (he's now works for EA - so he can't be involved in an official capacity) and give us advice, tips, inside info, help with design etc. This is an incredibly generous offer from someone who no longer has any official involvement with the Might & Magic series. Top bloke!

Anyway, from a Blitz point of view the demo consists of a terrain, a maplet level, some models and some sprites. And that's it! ;) It's not designed to be cutting edge, the intention was to code an engine that was capable of producing a game of the calibre of MM6-8 which are a few years old now (hence the use of billboard sprites for NPCs & monsters etc.).

I'd like to point out that this is just a tech demo (lots of stuff still to be implemented) and it uses a lot of 3DO's media as placeholders. These will obviously be replaced as the project progresses.