Procedural spheric maze

Community Forums/Showcase/Procedural spheric maze

Flanker(Posted 2016) [#1]
Hello, I've been playing with maze generators, something I've never done before. But classic 2D mazes are quite boring... What about a spherical maze ? That's what i've been working on for the last couple of days on Blitz3D.

Six 2D mazes are generated using an hybrid algorithm (backtracking + growing tree) with parameters for more or less corridors and dead ends, and correctly wrapped like a cubemap. Then they're used to "displace" a 3D cube-sphere mesh with limited corners distortion. Path width and walls width/height are customizable.

Small and medium size mazes (click for larger view) :

Closer views :

Different walls/path presets :

The biggest maze I can generate before Blitz3D crashes (too much vertices or triangles per surface) :

And if I revert the mesh to be an inner maze :

The last screenshot reminds me of Halo :)

I still have problems with UV on the walls. Floor and walls top are straight forward to map but walls need more work.

My goal is to implement pathfinding and correct player movement at the surface of the mesh. I'm also thinking about a fun game concept.

Blitzplotter(Posted 2016) [#2]
Oh my, very impressive stuff - foin provide some nice animated 3D images at a very reasonable price if your looking for avatars ;) Makes me think of the film mazerunner.

Flanker(Posted 2016) [#3]
I already bought a model from 3dfoin recently, nice quality and good price. Sure i'll look at it again if needed, but there is so much work to make a playable game that it can wait :D

Flanker(Posted 2016) [#4]
A video with a spheric camera freelook :

skidracer(Posted 2016) [#5]
That looks superb Flanker.

Do you have a hires version of the 'Halo' inner maze shot? If so please consider uploading to the gallery.

RustyKristi(Posted 2016) [#6]
Looks awesome Flanker!

RemiD(Posted 2016) [#7]
Quite impressive, i am curious to see what you will do with this.