MX2 Shaders

Community Forums/Monkey2 Talk/MX2 Shaders

rIKmAN(Posted 2016) [#1]
Has there been any more info on the shader support that MX2 will offer?

I've never used shaders before but I remember reading something about 'one big shader' a while back which made me think it wasn't the standard way shaders are supported/implemented, but I can't find anything on it using the search now.

Will it be pure GLSL or a custom language that MX2 will compile to GLSL?

Any info appreciated!

rIKmAN(Posted 2016) [#2]
Anyone know anything about this?

Capn Lee(Posted 2016) [#3]
shaders are supported by mojo2 in monkeyx now, don't see why they won't be in monkey2

rIKmAN(Posted 2016) [#4]
Yeah sorry should of clarified that I know they are supported, but where is any info on them and how to use them?

rIKmAN(Posted 2016) [#5]
There is really nobody in the entire community that has any info on shaders in Monkey/Monkey2?

Phil7(Posted 2016) [#6]
... just to start some conversation. I don't have any experience with shaders at all, but I read some posts about it. I think the shaders are part of Mojo2, so topics about that could be interesting. If you own a licence of Monkey X you also have Mojo2 in your Modules Folder. In that folder you can find examples how to use Mojo2 and shaders.
And in the GameJam2015 ( linke in forum topic) there is a game called epicfox wich is using shaders and mojo2 as far as I know.
So far my "knowledge". Maybe a starting point for some additional Pro information or at least some contradiction ;-)

ImmutableOctet(SKNG)(Posted 2016) [#7]
@rIKmAN: You're writing in GLSL and you're limited to fragment shaders. From there most things are fair game. The entry-point is custom and named 'shader', returning nothing ('void'). Like usual GLSL, you can declare 'uniform' variables that you can set through Mojo 2.