MONG, my first monkey app.

Community Forums/Monkey Talk/MONG, my first monkey app.

WERDNA(Posted 2011) [#1]

http://www.mediafire.com/?wkk1ao12h8ao95w

My very first monkey app, a simple Pong game :)

Use W to move up, and S to move down.

Tell me what you think,

W E R D N A
(It's complete, with source code)

Last edited 2011

therevills(Posted 2011) [#2]
Cool.

A couple of things with your code:

1. Use classes :)
2. You dont need the Cls if you display a full screen background image (this will improve performance a tad)

WERDNA(Posted 2011) [#3]
1. Use classes :)
2. You dont need the Cls if you display a full screen background image (this will improve performance a tad)

On 1., I wasn't sure if I could use classes or not. I'm still learning the language.

on 2., thanks for the tip!

Is there anyway to get rid of the black rectangle behind that's displayed when you
use DrawText by the way?

Thanks!

therevills(Posted 2011) [#4]
Classes are the same as Types in BlitzMax... although I dont think you use them either, or you didnt.

Check out my MonkeyPong example, which has source:

http://www.therevillsgames.com/monkey/monkeyDoc.html

black rectangle behind that's displayed when you
use DrawText by the way?

Yep, use a different font:

http://www.monkeycoder.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=201

GfK(Posted 2011) [#5]
Unless you want to offend somebody, think of another name. "Mong" is a derogatory term for someone with Down's Syndrome.

D4NM4N(Posted 2011) [#6]
Is it? Not heard that one before :S (northern thing perhaps?)

When i wake up with a hangover i always say i am "monging" (and usually "minging" too :)
.. or "monging out" (chilling) after a heavy sesh/festival/day at work :D

TBH it seems these days everything we say is derogatory to someone somewhere in some part of the planet...
Maybe we should all just stop talking altogether ad use brainwaves instead (like thse aliens on HHG) :D

Last edited 2011

ima747(Posted 2011) [#7]
*slap*
what was that for?