Android phone ignoring app installation location

Community Forums/General Help/Android phone ignoring app installation location

big10p(Posted 2012) [#1]
I have a problem with my Android phone and haven't had any luck on an Android forum, so I thought I'd take a punt here. :P

I have a locked/non-rooted Alcatel OT-983, running Android v2.3.7

I changed the app installation location on my phone to the SD card with 'pm setInstallLocation 2' in the ADB shell. This worked great. Now I want to set it back so I did a 'pm setInstallLocation 0' but my phone seems to be ignoring the setting and is still installing everything to SD. I have confirmed the install location has been set correctly by doing 'pm getInstallLocation'.

Any ideas what I can do to remedy this?

I'm new to Android/linux so any help would be appreciated. I'm just hoping I don't have to do a factory reset. :/

GfK(Posted 2012) [#2]
setInstallLocation 0 will set it to automatic. To force internal memory try setInstallLocation 1.

Otherwise, internal memory full?

big10p(Posted 2012) [#3]
I've setInstallLocation to 0 and 1 but it just gets ignored - everything is still installed on SD.

Memory is quite tight on my phone (only comes with 160MB) but I still have ~60MB free and even tiny widgets are getting installed to SD.

It's looking like a factory reset is on the cards, I suppose...

big10p(Posted 2012) [#4]
OK, done a factory reset and wiped the SD card and the problem still persists. Infact, things have gotten worse. I now can't set default applications.

Less than a week with Android and I'm seriously unimpressed...

GfK(Posted 2012) [#5]
Welcome to the wonderful world of Android. :/

SLotman(Posted 2012) [#6]
Disable the option to install on SD in the phone config? Maybe that will force things to be installed in the phone...

big10p(Posted 2012) [#7]
Disable the option to install on SD in the phone config?
I don't seem to have that setting.