I'm sorry. I have more crazy questions

Community Forums/General Help/I'm sorry. I have more crazy questions

En929(Posted 2012) [#1]
Ok I’m sorry. I have more crazy questions. I was thinking of going towards a career in programming, but when I was in college, I majored in Education and in my degree program, it didn’t require many computer classes (other than one on how to email, surf the web, etc.) and my degree didn’t require much mathematics either. In fact, I only had to take a somewhat consumer mathematics class that went over how to balance a checkbook or add percentages, etc. (I just had to pass 2 teachers exam that encompassed basic high school math). But, I’ve been enjoying the things that I’ve been learning with programming. I’ve been as of lately learning how to build websites with HTML and JavaScript, I’m going to learn Java and I mostly enjoy making web applications and will even delve into C++ too. So thus, I was wondering if I wanted a job in programming or so, would they still find it ok if I just have a degree in Education with absolutely no math? My other question regards certificates in programming or so. Are certificates even necessary? If so, are there any short routes to certain certificates? Once again, I’m sorry for asking crazy questions. Thanks

Last edited 2012

(tu) ENAY(Posted 2012) [#2]
A degree helps but in reality is pretty much worthless. Years of programming experience is what people look for. And I mean experience in programming and not experience in a job (although that does help)
Best to make stuff in your spare time, completed projects that you can show people. No matter where you work you will be constantly learning new stuff anyway so a fundamental basic of programming knowledge and the ability to learn is most important.

Dabhand(Posted 2012) [#3]
Depends on where you live, in the UK, at least, you need a piece of paper to say you are qualified to fart, never mind get a job.