GNU license newbie question...

Community Forums/General Help/GNU license newbie question...

Pierrou(Posted 2012) [#1]
Hello,

I have been working for a few months on a commercial project, using Blitzmax. I think it is about to be released soon...

It's a reading game, and I have been using a French database which is available on the web and contains a lot of words, which can be sorted in many different ways. So I've created a few lists of words using that big database, but the game isn't embedding the whole database at all, just small lists of very common words taken from it. I could have made those lists myself without using the database but it would have been much longer and more painful.

When I did so I unfortunately didn't bother reading the legal stuff... The database is released under the Gnu Public License and I'm beginning to wonder which parts of my game are supposed to be released under the same license (the text files? the whole game? nothing?)...

I hope some people used to those kind of licenses can help me doing things right without stealing from anyone...

Thanks in advance,

Yasha(Posted 2012) [#2]
The GPL is really meant for code, rather than this sort of thing...

1) How are you communicating with the database? Are you extracting the words at runtime or have you pre-built word list files of your own in advance?

2) How are you packaging those files with your application? IncBin, or leaving them off to one side?

If you've made your own word lists by interacting with the database in advance, and they aren't compiled into the main body of your program, it's probably not violating the GPL in any way (I can't see how it would even come into effect).