Port-Forwarding and IP Distances

Community Forums/General Help/Port-Forwarding and IP Distances

Oddball(Posted 2011) [#1]
I'm a bit a novice when it comes to coding multiplayer stuff and was wondering if anyone could help with a few questions I have?

Firstly, the app which is acting as the server opens a port to receive data, but it will be unable to receive anything if the port hasn't been set for port-forwarding on the router. Now I know how to do this manually through my router, but I was wondering if there is a way that the app itself can do this for those players who aren't very technically minded?

Secondly, is there a way to determine the physical distance between to IP address? This would be extremely useful for pairing up players who are near each other and therefore reduce lag somewhat. I have seen other multiplayer games do this so it must be possible.

Any info would be most useful.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2011) [#2]
I'm not an expert eighter. I think port forwarding isn't possible by code, esp. not in user (nonadmin) mode. And isn't port forwarding set in the router hardware anyway?? As far as I know portforwarding and firewall configuration is still one of those things multiplayers will have to go trough and it's also an ongoing issue for a dedicated community of howto-googlers. I could be wrong tho.