What would stop vista burning cds?

Community Forums/General Help/What would stop vista burning cds?

D4NM4N(Posted 2009) [#1]
Actually make that DVDRs

My mum bought a new PC recently with Vista.H.Prem on it. It says "application not found" when she clicks on a blank disk. When she does it through the burning software it says "dvd burner not found".

Have talked her through the usual stuff and remove the hw and force p&p etc and all results -sound- fine. It is using the manufacturer's image and is a Toshiba something-or-other "good deal" from morrisons.

No joy still same problem.

Problem for me, im in sweden, she is in UK. She is a total noobtard who cannot do anything without stressing max.

WTF cant vista burn DVDs or something? Last time i checked it could. She -was- on Ubuntu with her old PC that i installed last time i was in UK and have had almost 2 years of peace and quiet. Now my phone is ringing off the damn hook.

Anyone know of any wierd known issues or anything i have not thought of?

GfK(Posted 2009) [#2]
That sounds familiar. Is she trying to make a set of recovery CDs? Because my Compaq laptop did precisely the same thing - denied all knowledge of a CD/DVD burner being connected, even though it was.

Compaq's best solution was to flog me a set of CDs for another £15. WTF?

I reinstalled from my Vista DVD and used the licence key that came with the computer. Everything worked great after that.

Companies should be banned from selling computers that don't have a genuine OS CD included.

D4NM4N(Posted 2009) [#3]
no just trying to burn some photos.... faaazands of em.

Companies should be banned from selling computers that don't have a genuine OS CD included.
110% agree "mal" shovelware is the devil.

I think ts is prolly the case but i think she needs to buy a ram stick or two instead.

_Skully(Posted 2009) [#4]
I had these problems too so i used a free dvd burner from downloads.com and it worked even though built-ins would not... go figure