Getting a website to render correctly in IE 6/7

Community Forums/General Help/Getting a website to render correctly in IE 6/7

ubergeek(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi,

What is the recommended process for getting a website to render properly in IE6 or 7? My website ubergeekgames.com looks great in FireFox, but is totally screwed up in IE6... The left side bar's links aren't visible until you mouse over them, and the sidebars on the individual game pages are at the very bottom of the screen (below the embedded YouTube video).

I have very little experience coding CSS or HTML, which is why I used a ready made template to begin with... Anyone have some pointers to share?

Thanks!

Grisu(Posted 2009) [#2]
Why bother, it works under IE 8?
If Microsoft isn't capable of doing things right, their fault.

GfK(Posted 2009) [#3]
Ran your site through the CSS and HTML validators at http://www.w3.org - 9 warnings for CSS, 52 errors for HTML.

Might be worth looking into.

Why bother, it works under IE 8?
If Microsoft isn't capable of doing things right, their fault.
Only a small minority use IE8. Whoever's fault it is, if a website doesn't work then it needs fixed.

xlsior(Posted 2009) [#4]
IE6/7 still makes up the majority of web users. Regardless of how much the browser may suck, if you don't support it it reflects bad on YOU

ubergeek(Posted 2009) [#5]
Thanks a lot guys. I never knew about that site, it's very useful! Hopefully fixing those errors will solve the problem.
IE6/7 still makes up the majority of web users. Regardless of how much the browser may suck, if you don't support it it reflects bad on YOU

That's my logic as well. Although I did think of putting some extra text on the site if you're in IE: "This website is rendering incorrectly due to your obsolete browser. Please go here (link to firefox) to download an infinitely better browser for free!" but that probably wouldn't be the most professional way of handling this... ;-)

GfK(Posted 2009) [#6]