What's this mean in C: "->" ?

Community Forums/General Help/What's this mean in C: "->" ?

sswift(Posted 2009) [#1]
I'd google it but google doesn't work with symbols like that.

big10p(Posted 2009) [#2]
It's the operator to dereference a pointer. i.e. access the member data the pointer is, erm, pointing to.

Jim Teeuwen(Posted 2009) [#3]
I suggest you start here:

"A C++ Tutorial for Complete Beginners # 1" -> http://www.1cplusplusstreet.com/vb/scripts/ShowCode.asp?txtCodeId=2040&lngWId=3

Dabhand(Posted 2009) [#4]
Member access operator.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/b930c881(VS.80).aspx

One of them anyway, the other is a period [.]

Dabz

sswift(Posted 2009) [#5]
Jim T:
I'm not trying to learn C, I'm trying to access one stupid event that BlitzMax doesn't reveal which will give me the raw movement data from the mouse. :-)

sswift(Posted 2009) [#6]
Hm...

RAWINPUT* raw = (RAWINPUT*)lpb;

So if I'm reading this right... lpb is an int which contains a pointer. This is converted to a RAWINPUT pointer, and stored in a variable raw, which is of type RAWINPUT pointer.

At least that's how it first appears...

But this is the code that's in:

Case WM_INPUT

dwSize:Int = 40
			lpb:Byte[40]

GetRawInputData((HRAWINPUT)lParam, RID_INPUT, lpb, &dwSize, SizeOf(RAWINPUTHEADER));

RAWINPUT* raw = (RAWINPUT*)lpb; ' raw is a pointer to data of type RAWINPUT.  But why

If (raw->header.dwType == RIM_TYPEMOUSE) 
				Int xPosRelative = raw->data.mouse.lLastX;
				Int yPosRelative = raw->data.mouse.lLastY;
			EndIf

Hacked up a bit by me while converting it to blitzmax... But anyway, lpb is an array of 40 bytes. So (RAWINPUT*)lpb can't be converting an int to a pointer... Is it converting a pointer to a pointer of a different type maybe? I guess if it's an array being returned from the function it would have to be a pointer.