Netbooks: Samsung NC-10 vs. NC-20

Community Forums/General Help/Netbooks: Samsung NC-10 vs. NC-20

ubergeek(Posted 2009) [#1]
I'm considering getting a netbook for coding when I'm away from my desktop. I have it narrowed down to two:

Samsung NC-10
Samsung NC-20

I can't decide between them. The main difference is that the NC-10 uses the Intel Atom processor + Intel integrated graphics, and the NC-20 uses VIA chipsets. I've never used VIA before, and I don't know what to expect with them, even though it looks like it has better specs. Also, the NC-20 has a CPU clock speed of 1.3GHz, while the NC-10 has a CPU speed of 1.6GHz. Also, the NC-20 has an 800MHz FSB compared to the NC-10's 533MHz FSB, but I'm not sure if that evens it out or not. (The $100 difference doesn't really matter.).

I'm mainly using Visual Studio 2008 with XNA, and Blitz3D/BlitzMax. Blitz shouldn't be a problem with it's DX7 requirements, and both netbooks say they support Shader Model 2.0 so XNA should at least compile on it. I'm not looking to play Crysis on it or anything - I just need to write code and at least be able to test my games on it (even though it would probably only be at 3 FPS).

I'm in the US, and for whatever reason Samsung doesn't seem to be marketing or even selling them here (which is dumb, since these two blow every other netbook I've seen clear out of the water). Will I have any problems ordering one from NewEgg, or is there a better place to get one?

One other thing. I know NVidia has been developing some GPUs for Netbooks that run crazy fast yet use little power, but I haven't heard when anything running it will be coming out. If I get one of these now will I regret it in 3 months (more so than is usual with electronics, that is)?

Any suggestions?

Dreamora(Posted 2009) [#2]
For XNA at best the NC-20 is an option.