Pricing Programing Jobs?

Community Forums/General Help/Pricing Programing Jobs?

Imperium(Posted 2017) [#1]
Is it better to work hourly or by milestones?

Meaning you have a list of goals, then once they are met you get paid. Maybe do half the agreed upon price in advance? I guess it really depends on how competent of a programming you are. Because several things I could code myself in 3 hours someone seasoned could do in 30 minutes or less. LOL!

Even after being away from this community for 3 years I still recognize many of the names here.

I will admit I'm a far better designer than a coder. Which is why I would prefer to focus more of my efforts into tweaking the assets for my game project instead of getting things to work. Within the next few weeks I will be comfortable labeling my game officially in the Alpha stage, so I was hoping to see who out here has a little free time and will work for a reasonable price. Personally I feel that weekly milestones would be the best approach.

An example of what I need help with:
1. Implementing the GUI from concept to full functionality in the game.
2. Rework the Flight mechanics to be more realistic.
3. Smoothing out the animations in blitz.

I will handle all the assets regarding models, animation, texture, music, etc... I will post some screenshots of my work in progress and general idea in another thread. I have always followed this quote by Chuck Yeager "It's the man not the Machine".

Ken Silverman said something similar about game development and technology. It's not the tech you use its what you do with the tech. Proof that an idea sells better than anything else is the fact Minecraft, a messy Java game by and Indie Dev was sold to Microsoft for 2.8 billion???

Matty(Posted 2017) [#2]
I am not going to offer my services as a coder because I do it in my day job every day for work and I've never felt able to work for other clients outside of my day job.