HTTP Redirection

Community Forums/General Help/HTTP Redirection

_PJ_(Posted 2015) [#1]
For some reason, (apparently only) amazon content resources are always returning "301 Moved Permanently" responses, the odd thing fort me is that the "Location: " header is ALWAYS identical to the initial destination, potentially resulting in infinite loop...

I am very new to all this http/html stuff, but I know I used to be able to download the actual html pages. Obviously "official" web-browsers seem capable of identifying rthe correct redirect location since they find the right page every time, as does Blitz+ HtmlView gadget.

Does anyone have any idea what's going on or how to fix it?
Example:
Const Test$="http://www.imdb.com/find?q=alien+resurrection"

Local con=OpenTCPStream("imdb.com",80)
Local Response$
Local Request$

While (con)
	If (Request="")
		Request=Send()
		WriteLine(con,Send())
		DebugLog Request
	End If
	Response$=ReadLine(con)
	If (Response="")
		con=False
		Exit
	Else	
		DebugLog Response 
	End If
Wend

WaitKey()
End

Function Send$();Wraps GET request line
	Return "GET "+Test+" HTTP/1.1"+Chr(13)+Chr(10)+"Host: imdb.com"+Chr(13)+Chr(10)+"User-Agent: AnyUA"+Chr(13)+Chr(10)
End Function

// Note I have tried many other amazon related queries and alla have the same issues...

BlitzSupport(Posted 2015) [#2]
If I run the code below with your IMDB URL, it seems to infinitely redirect, as you say, despite handling the redirect 'properly', as far as I'm aware.

However, I noticed that the output says the response is 'chunked', so it's not plain text -- not sure if this relates to the actual problem, just had a quick try, but might be worth looking into:

BlitzGet MaxDeluxe

I have briefly encountered chunked encoding (from my own webhosting, actually), and used the following (PureBasic) code to 'decode' it -- this was very specific to my use-case, but there are some comments relating to how to process chunked return-data (scroll to "EXAMPLE RESPONSE"):