Blender 3D vs AutoCad 3D Max

Community Forums/General Help/Blender 3D vs AutoCad 3D Max

En929(Posted 2015) [#1]
Ok, I'm new to 3D game programming. I'm totally clueless. Which toolset do you use to make your 3D objects in your game? Autocad 3D Max or Blender 3D? To me, it seems like Autocad 3D Max is a very very very heavy program that takes up about 7 gigabytes worth of memory vs Blender which uses a few megabytes and it would be great to have a program that takes up less space. Both seems like easy programs to use.

GfK(Posted 2015) [#2]
If you've got the thick end of £4,000 burning a hole, get 3DS Max.

If you haven't, get Blender.

AdamStrange(Posted 2015) [#3]
if you are a student, you can get max (or maya) for free for 3 years.

En929(Posted 2015) [#4]
AdamStrange, yes that's how I downloaded Max. I listed myself as a student on their website. Hey, how about Maya? I haven't gotten around to that one yet. I forgot to mention that one. I'm a super beginner when it comes to 3D programming so I just want a consensus on which one is good as some programs are more straight shot than others.

And GfK, that's definitely a factor for me. I'm a cheap-skate on a tight budget. So, my favorite words these days are "cheap" or "free." So that probably answered my question there LOL.

Matty(Posted 2015) [#5]
If you can use 3ds max for free as a student then go for that....it may be bigger etc but there is a world of difference between open source and proprietary software most of the time....there's a good reason it is so expensive...

videz(Posted 2015) [#6]
I have both learned Blender and 3DS Max while doing modelling and rendering stuff for personal projects, and I must say I'm now more comfortable using Blender.

You can't go wrong once you have good knowledge with this great open source tool.

Derron(Posted 2015) [#7]
I dunno why you even ask if you use the educational version of 3D Max?

Did you even read the licence when accepting it?