File validity and authenticity

Community Forums/General Help/File validity and authenticity

col(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hiya all.

My project writes files to a DVD disc, and the files need authentication. I'm using sha256 to hash the file itself and I write that file to disc too.

My question for help what's the best way to make sure that the file and hash are genuine. After all someone could modify the file, generate a new sha256 and burn them to the disc. I suppose I use the hash to encrypt another value but I'm fumbling about a bit.

I'm a genuine newbie when it comes to this kind of thing and I'm more than willing to put the hours in studying it, I just need a good direction to start toward.

Cheers all.

GfK(Posted 2013) [#2]
There's nothing to stop you from adding a bit of post-processing to it - even something as simple as swapping bytes around in a specific order so you've got something a little more bespoke, instead of a straight SHA256 hash. You could even process the returned value (or part of it) repeatedly with SHA256, MD5, SHA1 etc. Unless somebody knows how you did it, it'd be extremely difficult if not impossible to duplicate.

col(Posted 2013) [#3]
Of course! Why didn't I think of that. So simple. I guess I was thinking of some highly cryptic algorithm that should be used and I forgot about the golden rule - KISS.

Thanks!

col(Posted 2013) [#4]
There's more... ( which I didn't make clear earlier )

The pc that generates the files will be with the customer - ie we sell the machines and software to third party customers so they are 'out in the wild'. Technically speaking it would be easy to disassemble and see what's going on. I don't mind this and understand its as good as impossible to stop it, but this is where the authentication would come in.

The scenario is...