Problem with trees.

Community Forums/General Help/Problem with trees.

Yue(Posted 2013) [#1]
I use Blitz3D, The problem is that when you get too close to the trees, which has a mask textures for transparency, low performance 60 FPS to 30, any suggestions?

Yasha(Posted 2013) [#2]
I think this sort of thing is caused by too much "overdraw" (I could be wrong, I'm not very good with graphics). Because the tree is made up of a lot of alpha'd quads, all of the quads need to be drawn as their pixels blend with those behind them (as opposed to solid quads which would simply hide whatever is behind them), so the machine has to go over and over the same bit of screen space many times, far more than it otherwise would.

I don't think there is any good way to deal with overdraw in plain Blitz3D: at the very least you need to adjust the rendering passes, and you probably want to do advanced things with shaders. So really you need to prevent it from happening at all by changing the design of the tree.

Ideas:

-- Reduce the number of leaf quads. Use a smaller number of larger quads. Potentially compensate by giving them bigger textures and better alignments.

-- Do more with opaque tree geometry, e.g. actually model out the branches. Opaque polygons are pretty fast even when there are lots of them.

-- Use one of the "tree systems" to be found elsewhere on this site (try the toolbox or code archives), that are already heavily optimised for B3D.

Gabriel(Posted 2013) [#3]
You have fillrate problems. Generally, you would solve this by:

1) Controlling the camera to avoid having lots of transparent pixels on the screen and particularly pixels which are overdrawn (ie: where you have one pixel which is transparent in more than one triangle, meaning that all have to be drawn.)