My First Football (don't laugh)

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/My First Football (don't laugh)

Captain Wicker (crazy hillbilly)(Posted 2012) [#1]
This is my first attempt to model a 3d football.

Download 3ds model Here: Download

GfK(Posted 2012) [#2]
...and here's my attempt, in Blitz3D code:
Ball = CreateSphere()

Steve Elliott(Posted 2012) [#3]
lol...but I think he's going for an American football.

GfK(Posted 2012) [#4]
I know, I'm just taking the mick out of it being called "football" when they pick it up and carry it.

Steve Elliott(Posted 2012) [#5]
Haha, good point. At least we had the common sense to call it something else - a rugby ball...and American's have smaller balls....I mean a smaller version of our rugby ball.

Derron(Posted 2012) [#6]
as a tip @ wicker:

seems you are using blender:

- click on your favorite view (I prefer "front" :D)
- press Shift+"A" -> "Mesh" -> "UV Sphere" (Add a new UV-Sphere)
(- modify the amount of detail on the bottom-left-pane if you want to adjust)
- go into mesh edit (press "tab")
- press "r" "y" "90" (rotate on y axis for 90 degree)
- press "a" (select all)
- a) press "s" "x" and move the mouse (your ball will deform on the x-axis)
- b) press "s" "x" "2" (scale by two)

afterwards you have a kind of football without broken faces and a non-uniform-mesh (not closed at all end-vertices).

Ah hmm I think I got it ... the odd parts of your model are sewing paths.
Instead of modelling them you should add them during texturing (unneeded polygons) - exception are high-resolution-normal-mapping-things (but I cannot imagine you are using the blender modifier :D).

bye
Ron

Captain Wicker (crazy hillbilly)(Posted 2012) [#7]
thanks for the tips

Yue(Posted 2012) [#8]
ball football captain texturing :D

Captain Wicker (crazy hillbilly)(Posted 2012) [#9]
o.O

Last edited 2012

GfK(Posted 2012) [#10]
Yue - that is awful.

Captain Wicker (crazy hillbilly)(Posted 2012) [#11]
Yue - that is awful.