Buck Rogers Countdown to Doomsday 3D

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/Buck Rogers Countdown to Doomsday 3D

tsmpaul(Posted 2009) [#1]
I've been given permission to recreate a classic 1990's rpg in 3D, Buck Rogers XXVC: Countdown to Doomsday! I'm really excited about this, and have almost finished the character creation process.

This pic is one of the character creation screens, and shows the cell shading effect I'm doing on the characters and environments in the game. I only learned cell shading recently, and quite like the look of it. The character is a male, Terran, rocketjock.

slenkar(Posted 2009) [#2]
this was one of my favourite games ever,

gfx look good too

_PJ_(Posted 2009) [#3]
Nice! I have no experience of the original but I'm sure Buck Rogers is a fun license to play with!

I am not sure if you're opening to criticism with this post, and I appreciate you're mainly showing the cell-shading, but the image of the character is quite small compared to the rest of the screen. The text looks as if the font is a little too large.
That said, though, it's very neat and tidy :)

tsmpaul(Posted 2009) [#4]
Hi guys! Thanks for the comments.

Malice:
I'm open to criticisms and suggestions at any time :)

During 'exploration mode' of the game, it is a first person view environment, and the characters aren't seen, they are only seen during the 'combat mode' of the game, which is a turn based, zoomed-out isometric view, so the 'playing pieces' of the characters aren't really big, and probably never viewed closer than the view in the screenshot.

I'll have to think about the font. I'm trying to work out what size works best visually and still being readable, on different size monitors and resolutions. To me, it seems a normal size font on my 19" screen. When I do beta testing, and people run the program full-screen, I'll see what people say. Perhaps a GUI-SCALING slider in the options screen, so people can enlarge or shrink the text size according to their preferences?