folio update

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/folio update

Ruz(Posted 2009) [#1]
been messing around making a web page for myself at last

http://www.mikerusby.com/

Not quite finished, need to re render some of the images as they are rather old.

I can't show much any of my professional work due to NDA which is a shame

GfK(Posted 2009) [#2]
Good stuff. I like the Fidel Castro and Saddam models.

I've been learning to make models of heads myself recently and I'm finding the entire process agonising. There seems to be very few guides that talk you neatly through the process so I'm just doing the same thing over and over and hoping things improve. I don't know how anybody ever gets good at this stuff.

scribbla(Posted 2009) [#3]
yep i like the off beat stuff Fidel Castro and Saddam

nice work as always

Ruz(Posted 2009) [#4]
yeah GFK, the point it is agonising and people wonder why I get stressed:)

The only way is to practice all the time and I have been doing it since 1995.

Took me years to get any good, although I had already been doing

illustration for 7 years previous to that.

I just tend to muddle my way through models, mixing and matching

techniques as there is no definitive way to do stuff.

cheers David H, I might just do more hand drawn stuff as I like the look of it better.
They were done for the world leaders addon pack for 'The Ship'

Matty(Posted 2009) [#5]
GfK - heads / faces I find difficult as well but there is a good tutorial on the 3dtotal.com website - the "Joan of Arc" one which is available for a range of 3d packages.

Ruz - they look great. I'd love to be able to do that but I need a lot more practice.

GfK(Posted 2009) [#6]
Just looked at the Joan of Arc tutorial - seems to make the job much easier than sticking to the 'edge extrude' method.

For the record (and not for the thread hijack), here's my latest effort. Took me about four hours in total: