Template Male Mesh - Critique wanted

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/Template Male Mesh - Critique wanted

Amon(Posted 2008) [#1]
Here's a mesh I started in Silo 2.0. It's taken me about 2 hours to get this far. There's lots to do on the mesh especially the arms and torso, neck area etc

I'm looking for tips and some help in how to finish it.

Screenies:

clownhunter(Posted 2008) [#2]
The feet seem to get really wide at the bottom.

Amon(Posted 2008) [#3]
Yeah I know about that. I'll fix that. I usually leave the feet and hands till last and just concentrate on the main torso, legs and arms.

GfK(Posted 2008) [#4]
I'm no expert but I think the general shape looks reasonable. I do think you're going to have problems with intersecting polys if you plan to animate it though, especially around the shoulders, elbows and knees.

Amon(Posted 2008) [#5]
Yep, I hadn't even thought about how it will shape when animated. There's so much involved in making a proper animatable human mesh.

I'll keep practicing though. :)

Ked(Posted 2008) [#6]
Looks good!

Blitz3dCoder(Posted 2008) [#7]
Does anybody know where i can get a tut that shows how to make an animated human character in blender 3d?

YellBellzDotCom(Posted 2008) [#8]
I like the overall look of it, fix the feet and its a dandy!

Amon(Posted 2008) [#9]
Here are some new screenies. I've got to add some detail to the head, remodel parts of the shoulders and remodel the hands.

Is there an app that can count how many polys the model is constructed of?

Screenies:

Reactor(Posted 2008) [#10]
Is there an app that can count how many polys the model is constructed of?

The one you're working in, I believe.

Amon(Posted 2008) [#11]
Yep Just spotted it. The current mesh as it is is 614 polys/faces.

Reactor(Posted 2008) [#12]
A small thing... when you create a humanoid model for animation, you should create it in a T pose.

JA2(Posted 2008) [#13]
This is something I'm working on at the moment ;)

you should create it in a T pose