My first head model

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/My first head model

Bouncer(Posted 2006) [#1]
Just had to post... I did my very first head model with Silo today.

I have very little modelling experience and Silo (http://www.nevercenter.com/) is a new program for me. The model is far from great, but I still suprised myself of what I could model from a cube in a few hours :)

I can only recommend this modelling app... atleast for absolute beginners like me.

Comment if you like.

JustLuke(Posted 2006) [#2]
It might be a good idea if you show us the wireframe.

This seems like a decent first attempt, but it lacks definition and detail. There seems to be a problem with the top lip. Specifically, it does not seem to follow the shape of the mouth, forking near the corners. You need to work on the definition and shape of the ears. The nose appears to be a rather "lumpy". Finally, generally speaking, the entire model seems overly smooth as if it was a jello mold.

I'm not sure if you are practicing low-poly modelling, but if you are then the head also appears to have way too many polygons.

GfK(Posted 2006) [#3]
Is it Shrek?

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2006) [#4]
Not bad at all, considering it's your first head.
If your target is models for games then you better use other tools to model, because the path organic highpoly > polygon reduce > lowpoly is definitively not satisfying. You'll end up with poor looking models with still too many polygons. Modeling things with lowpoly in mind in the first place may be harder and less intuitive, but it's worth the troubles. It only takes a couple of good tutorials.

North(Posted 2006) [#5]
Well that is quite an interesting thought JFK.
It's a matter of form before function opposed to what modelers had to do for years(build a functional model and stick to that).
Many modelers have wanted this functionality and now that it's here it is not satisfying? I beg to differ.