Monster Truck

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/Monster Truck

Ash_UK(Posted 2005) [#1]
This is my first attempt at low polygon modelling. I know the textures were rushed, and i could have done a lot better but i was just focusing more on the low polygon modelling for now.
Any feedback would be great :)

And

Thanks
Goldwing

Anatoly(Posted 2005) [#2]
Cool! Better than I can do (see "My first mesh" topic nearby)!
Did you extrude faces from the cube to make the body of the truck?

Ash_UK(Posted 2005) [#3]
Yes, I just started with a simple box, then extruded a few faces here and there as well as move some verts :)

Anatoly(Posted 2005) [#4]
What did you use to texture map the mesh?

Ash_UK(Posted 2005) [#5]
I went on the net and grabbed some photos of trucks, then i cut out different pieces in paint such as (the front, side etc) grouped them all together before saving the texture image. I then used the Unwarp UVW modifier in 3DS Max to map it. Hope this helps.

Anatoly(Posted 2005) [#6]
So you use MAX... Lucky... Well, I use GMax.. So it souldn't be too difficult... I'm about to texture my mesh, so I asked just in case you have some software to recommend.

Ash_UK(Posted 2005) [#7]
No problem :) If you need any more help let me know.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2005) [#8]
While I told you not to waste polies in the bucket thread, I have to say the opposite here. When a car plays an important role in a game (and in racing games it usually does) then people today expect photorealism to some degree. So I would at least smooth the mesh, or even better use more sides in the first place. This car is looking like a 200 hundred Tris or something. I think you should use 1000 or 2000 Tris for a nice car.