My first mesh!

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/My first mesh!

Anatoly(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello everybody!
I've just done my first 3d mesh for a test game...
I know it's crude and stuff, but I think if I will redraw the textures it will be quite ok...
I also had done my first bone-rigging in Pacemaker...
So today I've got some new experience...
You can laught at it as much as you want, but for me it looks quite good...
I don't have any artistic abilties and it's a challenge for me to make even something that simple...
Anyway, here's the pic:

Rob Farley(Posted 2005) [#2]
The bottom line is that it's rubbish! However, I'm sure all of our first meshes looked like that, I know mine did...

The more you model the more you learn and you find out that making stuff that doesn't look too shabby isn't actually that hard.

If I can give any advice here I would suggest aiming at things that are less complex than a human form. Go with things that you have immediate reference to like your moniter, your keyboard, your mouse, your lamp etc etc. Objects like this are geometric in design and therefore suit modellers very well.

Doing this sort of thing allows you to learn more about the modeller and the features, and you'll find it puts you in a much better position for create more complex stuff like humans.

Keep it up, keep modelling and keep trying new things. You'll be doing stuff that you're even more proud of in no time.

N(Posted 2005) [#3]
I don't have any artistic abilties

Well, currently you suck and I'm sure you know that judging by your comment there.

So, here's some links to tutorials and whatnot that you might find useful:
http://www.planetquake.com/polycount/resources/general/tutindex.shtml
http://www.3dluvr.com/content/section/1
http://forums.cgsociety.org/forumdisplay.php?f=166
http://www.cgchat.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=bfdb17fe59e3f534820b0d22f0cd5e5d&forumid=75

Anatoly(Posted 2005) [#4]
Well, I must say one thing: You got me right there! I suck!