Help Please!

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/Help Please!

Idaho Razor(Posted 2004) [#1]

okay i seriously need help on creating a descent terrain... Basically this is the first level (so far) and aliens are going to attack on this planet (from drop ships) Seriously, it looks like a terrain in a RPG game... but mine is FPS!!! can you guys give me tips on how to fix it to bring out the theme? i'm really new to terrains and need help!!!

RiverRatt(Posted 2004) [#2]
I think it looks good, just need to ad rocks, trees, streams, and structures, and plants and stuff.

IPete2(Posted 2004) [#3]
I agree with RiverRatt,

You just need to add in the detail and some shadows - the sky looks great, the path looks fine.

Have you tried "TerraEd" by Filax?

Take a look at these:

Still shots:
www.smartscreenuk.com/terrain019.jpg (50k)
www.smartscreenuk.com/terrain025.jpg (50k)
www.smartscreenuk.com/terrain030.jpg (50k)

MPEG mpovie:
www.smartscreenuk.com/Terrain001.mpg (1.6MB)

All created in TeeraEd - with shadows and wind movement, the ability to control heighmaps, colour maps, lighting/shadow maps and a detail map (for ground detail). Comes with a height map editor, and the ability to set up a skybox. (You can swith this off so you can use a sky plane).

It is very highly recommended by this user. It does use Blitz terrains so its quite quick too.

IPete2.

PS Nice website Idaho!

aab(Posted 2004) [#4]
Large obstacles and possibly cliffs, as well as command posts, fences, those WW spike things (at Nomandy)?, overturned vehicles: some evidence of gun wielding ppl being there and other gun wielding ppl being there at the same time...(if thats fittin in with plot that is)
maybe some pools of water here or there..

Idaho Razor(Posted 2004) [#5]
IPete2,

i did buy TerraEd a while back, i just haven't used it really except to create shadow maps and some color maps *drew this color map myself though*

also, thx for the comment on my web-site ;-)