weekly modeling comp: Shield

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/weekly modeling comp: Shield

gellyware(Posted 2004) [#1]
This weeks competition is to model a shield usable by a warrior, or any other class that may be able to equip it. The shield can be any style of your choosing , from any time period. The model shall not exceed 500 polys and use a maximum texture of 512x512.

morduun(Posted 2004) [#2]
639 tris, so it's already disqualified, but hell, I finished it, so here's a 19th century Persian shield:

Get the model + texture here -- http://www.echthros.com/files/PersianShield.zip -- ms3d and b3d formats.

The texture's the same image I pulled from the web to use as a ref pic; I'm a lousy 2d artist, so if making your own 2d art was part of the requirement then I'm already disqualified. I'm sure someone could give better love to the texture for the back side of the shield and the straps, but as I didn't want to search all over for proper textures for them they'll just have to do.

[edit: Would be interested to hear from a proper 3D artist how they'd bring this mesh down to 500 tris -- I assume mainly it'd be a little less detail in the circumference of the shield disc and less detail in the rivetlike thingies?]

podperson(Posted 2004) [#3]
You could load that sucker into Max (or any other high end modeler) and run an optimize modifier over it and have it down to < 500 polygons in about 15 seconds (10 of which is waiting for Max to launch ;) ).

I think you should exaggerate the 3D detail more OR get rid of it and save polys.

Paul "Taiphoz"(Posted 2004) [#4]
Mine will be up soon. ;)

gellyware(Posted 2004) [#5]
Morduun, nice texture work. Only recommendation is you add some scatches on there.

Make it seem like its been through plenty of battles.

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#6]
very nice texture...make it bloodsplattered!

RiverRatt(Posted 2004) [#7]