Dream Like Terrain Scene

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/Dream Like Terrain Scene

CodeD(Posted 2004) [#1]
Here is a terrain scene I did in 3ds Max 6 sort of inspired by the dream scenes in 'The Cell' except not as bright. It's not really finished.
Please note, I am only an Uber novice user of Max.
You can check out my portfolio (and make fun of it) on my website.
Edit: I posted a new render at the bottom of this post for the critiques.

Braincell(Posted 2004) [#2]
The trees dont cast shadows onto tarain. Also terrain shadows look odd, are you using the lights from Max to make shadows or just textures? You can put an omni light > General Parameters > and tick Shadows On (Shadow map is good). Good start though. Theres a heap of other comments but i dont wanna drown.

Hujiklo(Posted 2004) [#3]
He he! You for real?? You one funny guy - I like you... He he!! Keep it up!

CodeD(Posted 2004) [#4]
I used a target spotlight, shadow map I probably missed. Yeah, I know it's not great. But, I did figure out how to displace a quad patch, and bump textures all by myself.
Anyhoo...I did say it wasn't really finished. Thanks for the tips though.

N(Posted 2004) [#5]
My critique.

Too much contrast, the water is too blue for what is probably a small pond. It should be transparent and a light blue green (turqoise-ish, but more blue than green).

I have yet to see a terrain in the real world that is that rugged and displaced in such a small area.

The dark thick streaks across the terrain don't make any sense to me and I see no reason for them being there.

Yes, I'm so bored that I'm critiquing a bit of unrealistic terrain.

CodeD(Posted 2004) [#6]
Okay, here is a new render. I fixed the shadow maps sort of.
Let me know what you think. Thanks again for the tips!! Keep em coming, please.

Braincell(Posted 2004) [#7]