my game character

Community Forums/Graphic Chat/my game character

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#1]
this is my first attempt at putting things together in b3d

my kids are divided as to what is on the guys head...my youngest says its funny hair, my other says its a hat that pilots wear.....its meant to be a pilots hat.. :)

ZipFile
Click here!

cycle test zip file 723 kb
number keys view the anim cycles 1,2,3,4,5,6,7
j or L/ctrl to jump arrows to move....just getting the guy from lightwave to blitz was an adventure in its self

mock up pic....1st texture using deep paint 3d

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#2]
I think you need to make the hat a darker brown colour, that way it will look more like leather.

(looks good though)

Big&(Posted 2004) [#3]
Thats great and the jump works especially well.

Can I just ask what tools you use to get it into Blitz?

Like are you going from say Max to Character FX then to Blitz.

Just interested as I have not done any character stuff before but this stuff looks really nice and just wanted to get an idea of the process.

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#4]
i tried dark brown on the hat..but they said i made it look more like hair...i guess im guna have to texture some leather on it...

i use lightwave and terrabits converter that converts a lightwave scene file to a b3d animmesh

if you press 4,5,6,7 this is the jump broken down into sections, take off, glide, descend and land.. for the timing

Big&(Posted 2004) [#5]
Thanks for the info tiler.

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#6]
Some files that might help (or not)

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#7]
nice one......i was close in the basic shape...but definitely needs a good texture..thanks

Ruz(Posted 2004) [#8]
like it tiler, looks good so far

cermit(Posted 2004) [#9]
Yes, the character looks very nice. The bag he has is a little to high up maybe, and the bag needs some rope (cant find the english word) that it looks like the character is wearing it.

scribbla(Posted 2004) [#10]