Easy 3D world editor

Community Forums/Developer Stations/Easy 3D world editor

ziggy(Posted 2007) [#1]
I'm looking for a 3D world editor like mapplet, but with some features (not only basic primitives). what is the best choice (freeware or not very expensive). I have no experience on 3D editing, so any help will be wellcome.

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
If it is outdoor, I would check out T.Ed, TerraEd and Freeworld 3D.
If it is for indoor like, I highly suggest having a look at DeleD and Quark.

Fuller(Posted 2007) [#3]
FreeWorld 3D brings back painful memories.... MAKE SURE YOU HAVE AN ETHERNET CARD

3D World Studio. Expensive, yes, but wonderful.

DeleD also quite nice...(If you have the pro version)

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#4]
Well Maplet is not a world editor, it's rather a CSG (constructive solid geometry) mesh editor with an embeded Lightmapper.

Currently I am using several tools to create levels:

Maplet for buildings or most parts of buildings.
Decorator to apply nice textures to Maplet exported buildings.

Several utilities like the Simple Tree Creator for Trees, plants and things.

A modified version of the FLE project that allows to have holes in the terrain for terrain-like mesh-terrains. This one is using the slope texture functions to make good looking terrains with ease.

a new, unreleased version of slimshady that allows to merge all these meshes. It also allows to alter the brush properties to create nice prefabs. Omni lights can be placed. Then the whole thing will be exported, with all brushes intact (alpha, masks etc.) including giles compatible light nodes as a B3D file.

In Giles I add sunlight and a few tweaks, then it will be lightmapped in giles.