Community Forums/Developer Stations/Silo 2.0 beta

Smokey(Posted 2006) [#1]
the beta is out for registered users

so 2.0 is coming soon.

http://www.nevercenter.com/

simonh(Posted 2006) [#2]
Has anyone got any impressions of this?

Moraldi(Posted 2006) [#3]
Yes, I am registered user and it looks amazing! (Paint Displacement, Live Texture Unwrapping, fully customizable UI and many more...). I am not a proffesional 3D model designer but I think this program is best velue for money
Because of beta stage there are some bugs.

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#4]
I must admit, even as a registered owner of 3dsMax 7, this looks very appealing for just $110. The Displacement painting alone looks like it would be worth that.

North(Posted 2006) [#5]
Silo 1 was maybe the fastest and most intuitive modeler out there.
Now version 2 adds UV unwrapping, displacement-painting and several workflow enhancements to the mix.

It is an early beta though so i don't advise using it professionally at the moment.
If you want to help out bug-squashing go ahead, save often and don't cry over lost data (Now this sounds worse than it is but some people tend to expect a fully finished, flawless product which it is not at the moment).

From experience i might also add that Nevercenter is highly communicative and quick in developing this app so bug-hunting can be quite rewarding *g*

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#6]
Agreed. I wouldn't plan to use 2.0 until it was out of beta. But I'd get 1.x now and a free upgrade to 2.0 all for $110, so it is very tempting.

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#7]
Had a quick play with the demo yesterday and bought it first thing this morning. It's a really slick piece of software. The new V2.0 features can only make it even better, but it's already better than any other modeller I've used. I can really see why even people with Max, Maya or Lightwave are buying this for modelling. It's like Blitz for modelling. It makes modelling fun again.

Amon(Posted 2006) [#8]