Importing gile(s) lights

Community Forums/Developer Stations/Importing gile(s) lights

Hujiklo(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi there - I'm a newbie in Blitz and Giles so this may well be an easy question to answer.
I cannot get any lights to be imported into my Blitz3d scene using the parseb3d bb file from Frecle.net.
I delete all referecne to the particles and include and call the parser in my main fps program but so far I have exactly zero realtme lights showing up in my 3d scene.
From a beginner's perspective, It would have been nicer if the so called example code actually imported and set up some realtime lights instead of just using the light positions as pivots for the particles - unless I really am so dumb as to have missed it.
I'm also lost as to where exactly the parser extracts the light positions and rotations as I cannot see any reference to them in the Type. fields...or for that matter even a mention of them in the Gile(s) help files under 'Exporting'

Any help would be extremely appreciated!

N(Posted 2004) [#2]
Try this one.

Beaker(Posted 2004) [#3]
I don't think he needs to use a gls importer for this.

Hujiklo(Posted 2004) [#4]
I tried your Code Noel - unfortunately it sort of hangs on my level gls file - perhaps it's too big? My gls files is over 4 meg. I dont have the ruins.gls to test it with either - but the standard Gile(s) scene hung on my computer, perhaps it was because that particular gls file has no textures??

Anyhow - thank you for replying and trying to help me out but your code is way above my head...I need simply to successfuly extract light data from a gile(s) exported B3d file.

IPete2(Posted 2004) [#5]
Hujiklo

I know that Dr. Who has done some work in this area for his Egypt level.

Send him an e-mail and see if he's still got the code which replaces torches set up in Giles... I think he will be able to help you as he already went through this learning curve.

IPete2.

N(Posted 2004) [#6]