the tools I have and cant do the things i need.

Community Forums/Developer Stations/the tools I have and cant do the things i need.

GameCoder(Posted 2004) [#1]
I have 3ds max6 - ultimate unwrap - gile[s]. I made a level in 3ds max but when I unwrap it its to difficult to map from with in ultimate unwrap. Im not even at the stage for lightmapping.

Basically should I drop Ultimate unwrap and do it all from within max? Also i model the whole level first, attach it all together, weld the model, then import in to unwrap for texturing. Is this the wrong way to do things?

Should I model bit by bit and texture bit by bit or is the way Im going about it now correct?

The level I have is massive with spirals, spheres, stairs, arcs and what not. When I try to unwrap this its a fandango like no other.

I am a complete noob to 3D and it has not even begun to click in my head. Any hints or tips using the tools I have on the best way to do things would be appreciated.

please :)

thank you

Rimmsy(Posted 2004) [#2]
If you have max 6 then you absolutely can't be without Pipeline: http://www.onigirl.com/pipeline/

Design a level in max.
Export it all as a b3d
Import into Gile[s]L
Lightmap.

Gabriel(Posted 2004) [#3]
Removed.

Xception(Posted 2004) [#4]
You are a complete noob in 3D modeling and have 3DS MAX 6?
Sounds suspicious!

Isaac P(Posted 2004) [#5]
Its not your job to be suspicous tho is it xception

GameCoder(Posted 2004) [#6]

Ruz(Posted 2004) [#7]
I have some third party sripts that allow you to texture levels easily.
The one I have now is uv tools by andy oakely. could n't do without it.
it allows you to copy and paste uv 's from one poly to another.+ you can rotate textures.

BTW max has great lightmapping also, you don't really need to use any 3rd party tools for this task

Hambone(Posted 2004) [#8]
This going to be harsh but ...

Amon,