Good freeware tools??

Community Forums/Developer Stations/Good freeware tools??

Reborn(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hey there!

I'm just a hobby programmer and I have been searching for a whole time finding the right tools to use. Because I don't want to earn money with my games and because I do it just for fun, I don't even want to pay for a map editor, a modeler, a lightmapper etc. ...(Blitz3D was already expensive for me as a pupilm eh? :)
So does anybody know good freeware stuff for creating games? I already found a good modeler, but what about a level editor, a lightmapper, etc.? Well, there's maplet, but it's quite limited. I like it, because it's easy to use. A Problem is that you can't really create outdoor scenes. I tried to create a box and carve the walls from it, but then the box disappears. And what about the Quake and Unreal editors? I think they don't support *.b3d and I've heard that *.bsp doesn't support bump mapping...

Can anybody help me out? Even a link to a similar thread or something would help...

(remember: hobby, no money ^^)

Reborn

GfK(Posted 2004) [#2]
Try here.

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#3]
Or click on the toolbox link

Reborn(Posted 2004) [#4]
Ah, thanks for the link, GfK! I have already looked in the toolbox: 3DModelers are DeleD (too limited so far, I think; no lightmapping and less fileformats), gameSpace (not free) and TreeMagik (not free; only for trees ^^). Mapeditors are Maplet (too limited) and Cartography Shop (not free). LIghtmappers are gile[s] (not free) and ligtbulb (not free, too).

:(

So I think there are enough modelers, but what about map editors? Is it possible to create full levels in modelers? I think so, but does it make sense? I mean what about collision and lightmapping?

mrtricks(Posted 2004) [#5]
If you're after a terrain editor you could try mine, Total Terrain (click my sig).

Reborn(Posted 2004) [#6]
Hey, thx! I think after long searching I got what I need at least. But I'll try your editor... thx!