Blitz3d /3D GameStudio?

Community Forums/Developer Stations/Blitz3d /3D GameStudio?

PD(Posted 2004) [#1]
Can anyone who has used Blitz3D and 3D Game Studio say which they think is better and why. I am a total novice when it comes to creating games and would appreciate anyones experiance on the above.

Regards

PD

ErikT(Posted 2004) [#2]
They're different. One is an engine while the other's a programming language. 3DGS has got a built-in scripting language. The scripting allows you to do many things, but you'll soon hit the wall if you try anything else than 3D games, and then preferably FPS's. It's got it's own level editor(crap) and model editor(an insult). Overall, it's quite decent for making fps games quick and dirty, but it's got a high price tag and some real ugly licensing terms(gotta splash 'made with 3D gamestudio' all over your product etc). Okay for prototyping but not much else IMO.

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#3]
I used to use 3D Gamestudio a lot. I was even involved with developing a fishing game which is being sold in Walmart (I was the animator on the project.) It was fairly easy to use but pretty limiting. If you want to hear reasons then look at old threads, in General Discussion especially, because this exact discussion/argument has raged many times before, but long story short I use Blitz3D now because I much prefer it.

PD(Posted 2004) [#4]
Thanks for your help Erik and Joe, I am trying to find out as much as I can about the right tools for the job but its often very difficult to make any decent decision as they all claim to do so much.

Cheers PD.

Falelorn(Posted 2004) [#5]
I own the pro version of A6 (3DGS) and B3D and B+. 3DGS is great, the level editor is not good, the modeler is bad, but the scripting language is nice, and can push out some amazing things. Blitz is a great language and easy to use. I prefer B3D over A6 for two reasons.

1. Its easy and fun to use