Mapping techniques

Community Forums/Developer Stations/Mapping techniques

PowerPC603(Posted 2003) [#1]
Hi there,

For my game, I wanted to create a big plane, wich will be used for the roads.
I wanted to assign a road-texture to each of the squares.
How do you do this in 3DS Max 4.2?

See screenshot:

You see in the perspective the complete texture (it's just a texture, because I don't have the road-textures yet).

I wanted to apply this texture to one square, instead of the complete mesh (see top-view).
How do I do this?
As I'm new to 3D modeling, can anyone explain me how to do it step by step (perhaps with some screenshots too)?

Another question:
Let's suppose I wanted to apply the same texture to each square,
would Blitz3D load the same texture 24 times separately (as there are 24 squares in this example)
or just once, and refer to it for each square?

If it would load the texture 24 times, it would mean a huge memory-usage.

Rob(Posted 2003) [#2]
Choose a method:

1) Go into sub object, select poly, apply uvs to poly, collapse, reselect poly, apply material export using pudding's plugin (www.onigirl.com/pipeline).

2) split into seperate faces and apply mapping, export using pudding's plugin.

3) as method 2, but add back into same mesh, apply single texture to entire object and use uv unwrap to map individual squares.

Rob(Posted 2003) [#3]
Loading the same texture into Blitz 24 times doesn't make any difference, Blitz will detect the same texture and only load it once (built in optimisation).

Binary_Moon(Posted 2003) [#4]
Actually all you have to do is go into sub object mode, select the polies you want to use the texture, then apply the texture. A multi sub object texture will be created which blitz loads fine.

PowerPC603(Posted 2003) [#5]
I tried to apply the "Edit Mesh" modifier to the plane.
I could then select each square (polygon) separately.