Code archives/Graphics/Use VLC DLL to play video

This code has been declared by its author to be Public Domain code.

Download source code

Use VLC DLL to play video by BlitzSupport2015
Basic proof-of-concept VLC-based player.

This very simple example is Windows-specific, but the same methods of LibVLC usage should apply on other platforms.

Please note that you need to place this code in a folder alongside copies of libvlc.dll and libvlccore.dll, plus the /plugins folder and contents, from a 32-bit VLC installation (or build yourself from sources if so inclined). This applies even on 64-bit Windows.

The installation should look something like this:

Known problems/limitations:

1) LibVLC writes out any debug/error messages to console; these would not appear in a GUI-built application;

2) Only seems to work with non-Unicode filenames, not sure if this is down to :String or the use of String.ToCString, though String.ToWString didn't work.

3) Licensing: warning -- I am not a lawyer, so this note is only my understanding written out:

LibVLC is LGPL-licensed, and so can be distributed in DLL form alongside your program, without the need to release your program's own source code. However, the codec-specific plugins are a licensing minefield, so you should probably research which ones are also LGPL, encode in one of these formats, and distribute only the specific plugins you need. [EDIT: Note that VLC itself, the player application, is licensed under the GPL.)

Tested with 32-bit LibVLC DLLs, version 2.2.0, copied from VLC Media Player 2.2.1, on Windows 7 64-bit only.
' MaxGUI/Win32-specific example!

' See description -- some setup required!

' Resources:

' https://wiki.videolan.org/LibVLC_Tutorial/
' https://www.videolan.org/developers/vlc/doc/doxygen/html/modules.html
' Search engine + VLC function names!

SuperStrict

Import maxgui.drivers

' LibVLC functions...

Global libvlc_new:Byte Ptr							(argc:Int, argv:Byte Ptr)			"win32"