Transparent Images

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/Transparent Images

InvincibleWall(Posted 2011) [#1]
I decided now that I have learned about circles and angles and Sin(), Cos(), Tan() and the rest (thanks to all that helped with that) I'm going to test my knowledge of them by making a space shooter similar in nature to Star Sonata (kinda) but i looked at my old flame and energy effects and they do not belong in space, actually they do not belong in any non-Sribblenauts type game. They have no transparency so it is only circles and rectangles changing sizes and colors before disappearing.

well you get my point I'm trying to learn the art of alpha channels and transparency. I am currently studying code archives examples and they seem far to slow to use in real time... is it possible to do real time transparency in B+ ? I am for the most part just trying to make rectangles, circles and lines appear to glow, fade out or fade in to (ontop of many different backgrounds and space ships) simulate lasers, fire, plasma and any other type of glowing energy your can think of...

any references/articles/books/code etc... that you guys have found that would help to learn how to make a real time transparency function would be great

btw I'm trying to learn how to do this not just have code that does it, I like understanding exactly how everything works in my code

Thanks Ahead of time

xlsior(Posted 2011) [#2]
It's always going to be slow in blitzplus, since it runs in 2d mode... you'll have to do the math, mix and draw pixel by pixel.

Years ago I came across a dll that could draw transparent sprite in blitzplus pretty fast, but I don't remember its name.

It's always going to be much slower in blitzplus than it would be in a language like blitzmax though, since that one uses 2d-in-3d, and can use the hardware acceleration of the videocard to do blending, scaling, rotating etc.

InvincibleWall(Posted 2011) [#3]