Need help with MMOAA

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/Need help with MMOAA

neos300(Posted 2009) [#1]
Well, ive decided to quit blitz in favor of c++. Sorry.

However, while my network books are being delivered, i thought i would make a MMOAA(Massivly Multiplayer ASCII Adventure) in my spare time.

1. problem: I suck at Blitz graphics programming, and i certainly couldnt make a mmo client. I have however, made some succesful server tests, and could make a server and what not.

So, can anyone write a client for me? It needs:
1. Able to read an ascii file place the contents of it on the screen.(MULTILINED)
2. Able to make the maps in notepad(Again, multilined, will be ASCII art)
3. Have some gui of some sort.(Gonna be hard, as i have no experience with graphics programming i was unable to test writing values to a screen.

If anyone can help, please reply.

Sauer(Posted 2009) [#2]
I doubt anyone here will write you a client for a game without the server code at hand or any details about the game in general.

Just out of curiosity, what do you find easier about C++?

deps(Posted 2009) [#3]
1 You should look into (p/n)curses to place ascii text anywhere on the screen.
2 Google for "c++ load text file" or similar to load text files, then see 1
3 see 1

If you can't write the client yourself, you will most likely not be able to extend it further to suit your needs.

neos300(Posted 2009) [#4]
@Sauer
I dont. I find it a more diffucult and more powerful version of blitz.

@deps
I relaized this was a stupid idea when i posted it.

Mahan(Posted 2009) [#5]
Imho. you should try out BlitzPlus 2D programming for a while, because its unlikely you can find an easier language for 2D stuff. If you are 100% sure that you wanna do ASCII/console graphics I'd recommend http://www.freepascal.org instead because it has libs for that (and BlitzPlus does not).