I still don't get it...

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/I still don't get it...

Kyler(Posted 2008) [#1]
Ok, I've been programming for nearly 3 years. And I can't move forward, until I learn this very basic concept. I've read the book like 4 times, and looked at sample code after sample code, and I STILL don't understand the Dim function. If anyone can give a VERY DETAILED description, and example on what it's used for, and how to use it, I will be eternally grateful. Thanks.

Kyler

GfK(Posted 2008) [#2]
um.... it defines the dimensions of an array.

eg:
Dim firstname$(10)
Dim lastname$(10)

firstname$(0) = "Banana"
lastname$(0) = "Man"
firstname$(1) = "Super"
lastname$(1) = "Dave"

For n = 0 to 10
  Print "Name " + n + " is " + firstname$(n) + " " + lastname$(n)
Next

If you've read a book four times that still hasn't managed to explain arrays properly, I'd set fire to it, tbh.

ziggy(Posted 2008) [#3]
Wich langanguage are you talking about? It deppends on he flavour of Basic.
On vb.net DIM is used to declare a variable or an array.
If used on the declarations area of a class, you're declaring a private field. If used on the declarations area of a class and specify an array size, you're creating a private array inside the class. If used inside the body of a function or sub, then you're creating a local variable, but if used inside the body of a sub or function with an array dimension, then you're creating a local array. Then if you're using it inside a module, you're creating a private shared variable, unless you set again an array size, then you're creatina a private shared array.

My advice would be that DIM lets you declare anything anywhere but the access to this 'thing' is limited to the scope of where the dim sentence is placed.

Example:
Function MyFunction(Value as Integer) as string
    Dim A as String
    A = "This is a value: " & Value
    Return A
end function