new file compression idea

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/new file compression idea

Alaric(Posted 2006) [#1]
I have been working on a file compresser for quite some time now. At one point I came to thinking about ways to compress files without the common pattern searching system. Around that same time, I was working on simple XOR encryption (I'm a hobbyist, not a pro so I don't stick to one project at a time). I started mixing up the two projects in my mind and sometimes got ideas for one program while working on the other. This confusion lead me to ask the following question: "If you XOR'd a file enough times using varying lengths of bit masks, eventually would not all of the data inside be set back to 0's?" If this is true then, I thought, it MAY be more space efficient to simply keep a small log of these XOR's than to use the standard compression methods. Is there any life in this idea? I know that it is a long shot, but I thought that it might be worth investigating... Also even with the billions of calculations most computers today do a second, it might not be worth the lengthy compression time. However, perhaps you could simply XOR the file just enough to bring out large patterns that the standard compresser could exploit. What do you pro's think about this?

DjBigWorm(Posted 2006) [#2]
Alaric,

I have made my own image bank compression I think it was as simple as RLE when I was done. Lol but I did compare it to png format and mine was smaller in size and I can bulk up many images plus save extra bliz specific in them and still be small then a standard png format. What you are talking about sounds interesting. I hope you can work out the tech details and make it fly.

Alaric(Posted 2006) [#3]